Hello world! Here is yet another blog …

Hmmm, I am taking a plunge into the world of WordPress blogs. This is something that I have wanted to do for several reasons. But the main one is that WordPress is an open source program. This is my way of making use of one.

In fact, my first blog was set up on my own server using WordPress. I felt a little guilty about using up our Department’s computing and web resources for it. So, I set up my first blog with Blogger about a year ago.

I have been watching the progress on the WordPress blogs for a while now, and was also secretly wishing for someone to send me an invite. Thus, it was a pleasant surprise for me to learn recently that WordPress.com became open for new membership.
I will continue to explore WordPress, to learn more about it. I am sure it will be easy to learn all the intricate things here without too much of a problem. At the same time, I also need to spend some time on it. I am yet to decide how I am going to divide the content between my two primary blogs.

I’ll be baaack!

2 thoughts on “Hello world! Here is yet another blog …

  1. Hi Abi,

    this looks Cool! I have a WP account also, but I was a bit disappointed since I wasn’t able to do any CSS tweaks, and use a “customized” template. In that respect, I think that Blogsome (which also uses wordpress) is better.

    Are you planning to make a move here sometime soon?

  2. Hi Vishnu,

    That we can’t (yet) play around with the template and CSS is one of the reasons I haven’t completed the move yet. For the moment, this will have some posts, while the other one on blogger will continue. Also, its post editor sucks (right now) on Firefox 1.5. Hopefully, these rough edges will be smoothened soon.

    The two things that I really liked are: (a) this one is an open source venture, and (b) it has many many features built into it, categories in particular.

Leave a Reply

